home    site map    UPB AS PRESENTATION / 2017
   about us      structure      news      products / projects      social projects      vacancies      photogallery      contacts  




|10. 08. 2016| UPB Annual Report 2015 

  history        finance        certificates       
    Print      Send  
Voting Started to Determine the Winner of the Spīdola Annual Prize in Economy [LETA]

Today is the first day of voting to determine the winner of the Spīdola annual prize in economy promoted by the Association of Economists 2010, for which a number of well-known entrepreneurs, heads of large companies as well as the Prime Minister Ivars Godmanis (a member of the Latvia’s First Party/Latvian Way) have been nominated this year.
The list of nominated candidates for the prize includes: Mr. Jānis Bērziņš, Director of SIA "Stendera Ziepju fabrika", Mr. Adrians Dāvis, Chairman of the Board of AS "Latvijas Gāze", Mr. Vitālijs Gavrilovs president of the Latvian Confederation of Employers, Mr. Godmanis, head of the government, Mr. Valērijs Kargins, head of the board of "Parex banka", businessmen Mr. Gunārs Ķirsons and Mr. Kirovs Lipmans, Mr. Jānis Naglis, the former head of the Privatization agency, businessman Mr. Normunds Skauģis, Ms. Inna Šteinbuka, the former head of Public Services Regulation Commission, businessmen Mr. Vilis Vītols and Mr. Uldis Pīlēns, Mr. Nils Melngailis, the former head of "Lattelecom", Mr. Kārlis Miķelsons, head of "Latvenergo" and Mr. Ilmārs Rimšēvičs, head of the Bank of Latvia.
The above candidates have been nominated by the Association of Economists 2010 together with the public relations company "P.R.A.E. sabiedriskās attiecības".
Candidates may be voted for on the website of the Association of Economists 2010 www.ekonomisti.lv as well as on the websites www.diena.lv and www.apollo.lv.
As has been emphasized by Mr. Ojārs Kehris, president of the Association of Economists 2010, it does not mean that those are the only candidates for the prize and other candidates may emerge during voting. In order to acquire most competent evaluation, questionnaires will be sent to 50 well-known Latvian experts in economy.
As has been reported earlier, for the second year in succession, any resident of Latvia may vote for a Spīdola prize candidate who in their opinion has deserved to be awarded the prestigious prize.
All nominated candidates will be evaluated by the board of the Association of Economists 2010 in accordance with the criteria set forth in the regulations. Spīdola’s prize in economy is awarded for new initiatives, promotion of free market relations in Latvia’s economy, for establishing new market economy institutions and improving operation of the existing institutions, ensuring and expansion of competition in a certain market sector and in the economy in general, introducing new products and services on the market as well as improving the freedom of individuals in economy, for improving the level of education, competence and skills. 
Spīdola prize in economy winners in the previous years were Mr. Einars Repše, Mr. Andris Šķēle, Mr. Bertolt Martin Flick, Ms. Ingrīda Blūma and Mrs. Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga.
The Association of Economists 2010 was founded in 1994 with the purpose to promote an economics-oriented thinking and a long-term development of economy in Latvia. Its members are the well-known economists: Ms. Aina Bataraga, Mr. Mārtiņš Bondars, Mr. Dairis Cālītis, Mr. Juris Cebulis, Mr. Eižens Cepurnieks, Mr. Kārlis Cerbulis, Ms. Ingūna Dobrāja, Mr. Kaspars Gerhards, Mr. Andris Liepiņš, Mr. Pauls Dzintars Kalniņš, Mr. Ojārs Kehris, Mr. Aleksandrs Kiršteins, Mr. Edmunds Krastiņš, Mr. Uldis Kriķis, Mr. Uldis Osis, Mr. Ilmārs Rimšēvičs, Mr. Arvils Sautiņs, Ms. Inna Šteinbuka, Mr. Juris Vīksniņš, Mr. Uldis Vītoliņš, Mr. Roberts Zīle and the associate member Mr. Pēteris Strautiņš.

By Jānis Bagātais


Опубликован: 01.08.2008

       UPB © 2007 Copyrights | Contacts
Site design and programming by | CIMO |